The People's Railway: the case for bringing back British Rail

Public support for taking the railways back into public ownership is now at 76%, and there is a growing consensus that nationalised rail is a question of when, not if.

With politicians from all sides now accepting that a publicly owned railway will be the most economical, and sustainable way to provide

this vital public service, the TUC is hosting a special event as part of our 150th anniversary celebrations, to debate how it should be done.

Speakers:
Tosh McDonald - President of ASLEF
Rachel Maskell - Shadow Transport Minister, MP for York Central
TBC - a community rail campaign

Join us at The Crescent Community Venue in York on Thursday 18th January at 6.3pm, a stones throw from the heart of the railway revolution.

The Crescent offers a fully liscenced bar, and it will be open throughout the event and Q&A.

MORE INFO:
http://www.actionforrail.org/
UK railways need reform. Privatisation of our railways has led to a fragmented and dysfunctional system. We need a railway that delivers for people before profit.

In most European countries apart from Britain, the tracks and other infrastructure are publicly-owned and there is also a publicly-owned train operator that provides the majority of passenger train services.

▼ Show More Information

8 The Crescent, YO24 1AW
York
18 January , Thursday 18:30

More Events Nearby

 20 July , Friday
 York, United Kingdom, York
 13 July , Friday
 The Breighton Ferry, Selby
 08 July , Sunday
 Knavesmire, York
 21 July , Saturday
 Rat Race Adventure Sports, York
 28 June , Thursday
 The Fulford Arms, York
 15 July , Sunday
 Wetherby Racecourse & Conference Centre, Wetherby
 27 June , Wednesday
 Grand Opera House York, York
 15 July , Sunday
 Wetherby Racecourse & Conference Centre, Wetherby
 21 July , Saturday
 Breighton Airfield Nr Selby, Selby
 30 June , Saturday
 York Races, York
 21 July , Saturday
 Breighton Airfield Nr Selby, Selby
 14 July , Saturday
 The Venue Selby, Selby
 22 July , Sunday
 Tadcaster, United Kingdom, Tadcaster
 21 July , Saturday
 York Barbican, York
 16 July , Monday
 Best Western PLUS Milford Hotel, Leeds
 17 July , Tuesday
 The Crescent Community Venue, York
 30 June , Saturday
 York Races, York
 16 July , Monday
 York Barbican, York
 30 June , Saturday
 The Breighton Ferry, Selby
 22 July , Sunday
 Wetherby Martial Arts, Wetherby
 30 June , Saturday
 York Races, York
 07 July , Saturday
 Selby Bowling Club Events, Selby
 22 July , Sunday
 Askham Bryan College Equine Business Management, York
 03 July , Tuesday
 York, United Kingdom, York
 07 July , Saturday
 Friends of Rowntree Park, York
 01 July , Sunday
 Mill lane stables, Brayton YO8 9LB, Selby
 06 July , Friday
 York, United Kingdom, York
 17 July , Tuesday
 Best Western PLUS Milford Hotel, Leeds
 01 July , Sunday
 Yorkshire EC, South Milford
 07 July , Saturday
 The York Makery, York
 10 July , Tuesday
 York Van Centre ISUZU, York
 29 June , Friday
 The Owl at Hambleton, Selby
 06 July , Friday
 The Owl at Hambleton, Selby
 01 July , Sunday
 Squires Bikers-cafe, Sherburn in Elmet
 15 July , Sunday
 Yorkshire EC, South Milford