Lawrence of Arabia on 70mm at Filmhouse

A brand new 70mm print of of David Lean's magnificent epic - a real cinema treat at Filmhouse! During the First World War, a British officer succeeds in uniting the Arab tribes and goes to war against the occupying Turkish army.

Grand in every sense, Lawrence of Arabia is an example of an established

director full of confidence and ambition. Nearly four hours long, several years in the making, and complete with an interval and its own overture, the film aims for greatness and achieves it.

Peter O'Toole, then the new boy among international stars (including Alec Guinness as a shrewd Prince Feisal and Jack Hawkins as the calculating General Allenby) gives a wonderfully charismatic performance as the enigmatic Lawrence, and that other star of the film - the desert - is magnificently captured in all its immensity.

▼ Show More Information

88 Lothian Road, EH3 9BZ
Edinburgh
03 November , Friday 13:00

More Events Nearby

 25 December , Monday
 Biscuit Factory, Edinburgh
 23 December , Saturday
 BT Murrayfield,
 29 December , Friday
 Hermiston Gait Retail Park, Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 THE LIQUID ROOMS (Official), Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 Lulu Edinburgh Official, Edinburgh
 29 December , Friday
 THE LIQUID ROOMS (Official), Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 Princes St, Edinburgh
 06 January , Saturday
 The Standing Order, Edinburgh (Wetherspoon), Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 Edinburgh's Hogmanay, Edinburgh
 29 December , Friday
 Kittys Kirkcaldy, Kirkcaldy
 12 January , Friday
 Dynamic Earth, Edinburgh
 22 December , Friday
 FLY CLUB, Edinburgh
 08 January , Monday
 Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, Edinburgh
 10 January , Wednesday
 The Bongo Club, Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 Milk Tuesdays, Edinburgh
 26 December , Tuesday
 ATIK Edinburgh, Edinburgh
 24 December , Sunday
 Pieute, Edinburgh
 01 January , Monday
 United Kingdom,
 22 December , Friday
 PJ Molloys, Dunfermline
 13 January , Saturday
 Holyrood Park, Edinburgh
 22 December , Friday
 Biscuit Factory, Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 Edinburgh Events, Edinburgh
 24 December , Sunday
 EQHQ Livingston, Livingston
 27 December , Wednesday
 Oriam, Edinburgh
 30 December , Saturday
 Edinburgh's Hogmanay, Edinburgh
 23 December , Saturday
 Family Martial Arts Edinburgh and Falkirk, Edinburgh
 26 December , Tuesday
 Windsor Hotel Kirkcaldy, Kirkcaldy
 22 December , Friday
 Bannermans Bar, Edinburgh
 30 December , Saturday
 SKYbar Edinburgh, Edinburgh
 05 January , Friday
 Heriot Watt Snowsports, Edinburgh
 31 December , Sunday
 SKYbar Edinburgh, Edinburgh
 12 January , Friday
 The Caves, Edinburgh
 22 December , Friday
 Autosave Components Edinburgh Gyle, Edinburgh
 23 December , Saturday
 Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh
 19 December , Tuesday
 Broughton St Mary's Parish Church, Edinburgh
 20 December , Wednesday
 Stuffy Bears, Kirkcaldy